The board

Cllr Ann O’Byrne

Chair Person and Cabinet Member for Housing 

Councillor Ann O’Byrne has been a City Councillor in Liverpool since 1998, having previously dedicated her life to community development.

Ann is the Cabinet Member for Housing and is responsible for delivering the 5,000 new homes in the City, an integral part of the City’s regeneration. As a member of the Labour Party in opposition, Ann served as the shadow cabinet member for Children’s Services and the Environment portfolio’s.

When Labour took control of the City Council in May 2010, Ann was appointed as Cabinet member for Community Safety, with responsibility for community cohesion, equality and diversity, the youth offending service, hate crime, the prevent agenda as well as responsibility for the integrated youth and play service.

Ann also chairs the City Safe Board, where she works closely with the Police, probation, prison service and other key partners to reduce crime and disorder in the City. Ann is an active ward Councillor and is committed to her role as a community champion.

Cllr Malcolm Kennedy

Cabinet Member for Regeneration

Councillor Kennedy has been a City Councillor in Liverpool since 1998.

Malcolm was appointed to the Cabinet with responsibility for Regeneration and Transport in May 2010.

Last year the Mayor rearranged portfolios and Malcolm is now the Cabinet Member for Regeneration, responsible for physical development strategy and project development across the city. In this role he has been responsible for overseeing the development of Liverpool’s Strategic Investment Plan and Liverpool’s Local Development Framework.

Malcolm is a director of several companies in his role as Cabinet Member including Liverpool Science Park and Liverpool Business Improvement District.

Outside of the Council, Malcolm is the owner and director of RMK Business Solutions, a small consultancy aimed at assisting the growth and development of small businesses.

Cllr Alan Walker

Alan Walker has been a Labour Councillor for the Norris Green area since 2003.

He is currently a member of the Council’s Housing & Community Safety, and Regeneration & Transportation Select Committees, a Governor at Ellergreen Early Years School and a Board Member of Regeneration Liverpool which has a lead role in the redevelopment of the former Boot Estate.

He has 10 years experience working for housing associations; a BA (Hons) Degree in Sociology & Politics and hold the CIH professional qualification.’


Graeme Hogg

Partnership Director

Graeme has worked in the property and property finance sector since graduating in 1988. He has worked on major commercial and residential development projects and has 7 years of international experience in the development and fund management arenas, laterally being country Director for Nomura Bank’s investment partner in Moscow. Graeme was co-founder of Inpartnership with Duncan Sutherland in late 2000 and was instrumental in the creation of 3 nationally recognised regeneration partnerships up to 2007.

Graeme fronted the shareholder negotiations and investment with West Coast Capital in 2007 and the sale of Inpartnership to Sigma in 2011. Graeme was appointed onto the main Sigma Board as Partnership Director in June 2012. Graeme has an Honours degree in Civil Engineering and a post graduate Diploma in Property Investment.

Duncan Sutherland

Chairman Sigma Inpartnership

Duncan Sutherland leads Sigma Inpartnership as Chairman. Duncan has been key in developing the overall Inpartnership model, working with local government partners, and has been at the forefront in setting up the successful partnerships currently on the company’s books, such as in Solihull, Salford, and Liverpool. Duncan works closely with the government promoting this innovative approach to achieving regeneration.

Duncan is also a Non-Executive Director of Scottish Canals and has recently been appointed in a similar capacity by the Secretary of State for Transport to the board of HS2 Ltd, the new high speed
railway to be built between London and the north.